Tags

, , , , , , , ,

Sometimes this is how my head feels... Picture from freecodesource.com

The last few days I have been missing in action here on my blog. My apologies! I have been deep into PHP coding, along with some SQL coding and then just to keep things interesting how about throwing some Java script into the mix. Well of course you can’t leave out the HTML. Awe when I took my degree in Graphic Design I thought I would just be drawing pretty pictures on the computer, but “Oh NO!” I am drawing pretty websites and coding them with more punctuation than I have ever used in any of my writing. On my resume under foreign languages reads HTML, PHP, Cold Fusion (no that does not have to do with an atomic science), Java Script, and so on and so forth. I am not sure that is what is meant by foreign languages, but they definitely do not fall under “Language Spoken at Home”.

Maybe just somehow I turned out to be a Nerd! I don’t know when it happened. I was perfectly happy in High School just skating along with mostly “C’s” and a few “D’s” as long as I didn’t have to do any homework. Occasionally, I would screw up majorly, and show my teachers that I was actually learning stuff, and then the phone calls would start to my mom. “How do I motivate her, she is so smart!”  my teacher would ask my mom. I personally didn’t understand what all the fuss was about, and why they thought I was smart. Okay, so maybe I wasn’t happy not getting good grades. The thing was I did not see the potential in myself that those High School teachers saw in me. Somehow I had bought into the idea that I was dumb.

So what changed my mind? Several things played into showing me that I was actually capable of doing amazing things. The first, was in my Senior Year of High School, my Civics teacher lit a fire under my back side. She actually had the gall to threaten to fail me in my only required class to graduate from High School. She told me if I did not start showing up to class every single day (meaning no more long lunches) on time, and with all homework plus extra credit homework in hand. I would not graduate with my class. She scared the you know what out of me, and let me tell you, I was never the same. I was in class and on time every single day to that class. I had all the homework done. I did every single extra credit assignment that she assigned, and I studied for every single test, so I could pass them. The night of Graduation I was standing in line waiting to graduate when she came up and told me and another teacher that I was the only kid ever to pull an “F” up to a “C” in any of her classes. More importantly, I showed myself that I could do it.

A New Me Was Born

There was a new me born that night at Graduation. I went on to get an associate degree and then a bachelor’s degree in 3 years. I also graduated top of my class with a 4.0. I don’t say this because it somehow makes me special! Any one could do the same thing if they believed that the could. The difference between a bad student and a good student is the belief in themselves and the determination they have.

They Can Not Explain How She Does it

I have a niece who is in middle school. When she was born the doctors said she would never walk because of her C.P. (Cerebral Palsy). Today she is a cheerleader at her school, and a straight A student. This last year she has been through major leg and hip surgeries. The last of which was at the end of the summer, and yet she has cheered at all the games. The doctors can not explain how she is doing it, and how she is getting straight A’s in her classes. Her accomplishments go against all odds and medical knowledge of what she should and should not be able to do. She is just determined to be a normal kid, and has become an extraordinary kid.

So What excuse do we have? We have the choice to listen to the negative thoughts of others and even the doctors or we can be like K. and just go for it!

Peace and Harmony,

Sallyjane